Download Rugby World Cup infographic.

Bad news for New Zealand: this is the number of times the World Cup champions have successfully defended their title. Australia and England have come closest, reaching the Final as champions in 2003 and 2007 respectively, but it was no cigar for both.


The number of times the host nation has won Rugby World Cup – New Zealand in 1987 and 2011 and South Africa in 1995. Or, put another way, the hosts have won 42.8% of the time.


The number of venues hosting Rugby World Cup 2015 matches. The largest is the 90,000 capacity Wembley Stadium in London and the most intimate is Exeter’s 12,300-capacity Sandy Park. Of those 13 stadia, Twickenham will host the most games, 10 in all, including the Final.


The percentage chance of England reaching Rugby World Cup 2015’s Final, second only to New Zealand (a 56% chance). Simulating the Tournament 10,000 times, Rugby News Service established that those two teams are most likely to reach the Final, where New Zealand will prevail. And for the record, Australia and Ireland will be defeated in the semi-finals.


The height, in centimeters, of the trophy they are playing for, the Webb Ellis Cup. The Cup is gilded silver, supported by two cast scroll handles. On one handle there is a head of a satyr, on the other the head of a nymph. And on the trophy’s face are etched the words ‘International Rugby Football Board’ and beneath that, ‘The Webb Ellis Cup’.

The increase in the number of teams involved from the first Rugby World Cup in 1987, to this year’s Tournament. In 1987 there was no qualification process, with all 16 teams invited to participate. For 2015, 96 teams had to be whittled down to 20 finalists. Twelve qualified automatically, the remaining eight through qualification rounds.


The percentage of Rugby World Cups won by Southern Hemisphere nations. Of the seven Tournaments so far, six have been won by Southern Hemisphere heavyweights Australia, New Zealand and South Africa (all twice). The only Northern Hemisphere winner was England in 2003.


The largest winning margin in any Rugby World Cup, Australia just edging Namibia 142-0 in the 2003 Tournament. That was still three points short of the most points scored in a single match, however, when New Zealand beat Japan 145-17 in 1995.


The most Rugby World Cup points scored by a single nation – the mighty New Zealand. Leading the way on almost every statistic, they have 2,012 points from 43 games, scoring 272 tries, 198 conversions, 98 penalties, eight drop goals and an 86% win rate. The next most successful nation in terms of points scored: near neighbours Australia have 1,423.


The predicted global TV audience for Rugby World Cup 2015. A cumulative audience of almost four billion watched the 2011 Tournament, up from ‘just’ 200m in 1987. In 2015, they will watch 48 matches in 44 days with the Games being broadcast to 207 nations.

Instant Expert #1: The Basics of Rugby

Instant Expert #2: The Rules of Rugby Made Simple

Instant Expert #4: The Numbers Game

Instant Expert #5: War Games, A History of the Haka

Instant Expert #6: Deciphering The Referee’s Hand Signals

This article was commissioned via NewsCred's NewsRoom and written by freelance contributor Nick Harper.