Special dietary requirements in the spotlight

People with different dietary needs can enjoy Coca‑Cola drinks

At Coca‑Cola we aim to meet the everyday demands of different diets and lifestyles. We have easy to read nutritional information and ingredients labels on all our drinks to ensure you can make informed choices that reflect your individual needs. Here, we look at how our soft drinks can meet some of the different dietary needs we are asked about.

Can you drink Coca‑Cola when pregnant?
The Food Standards Agency advises pregnant women to limit their intake of caffeine to less than 200mg per day. Pregnant or breast-feeding women, or women trying to become pregnant, should follow their healthcare provider's advice regarding caffeine intake. We offer plenty of caffeine-free soft drinks such as Fanta, Sprite, Caffeine-Free Diet Coke and Oasis. Our Caffeine Counter also helps you to track how much caffeine you’re consuming throughout the day, to ensure you stay within any limits you have set.

Are Coca‑Cola brands suitable for vegetarians?
None of our UK soft drink brands contains ingredients derived from mammals or poultry. However, it's important to note that some of our products contain minute traces of fish gelatine, which is used as a stabiliser for the beta-carotene colour. These products are Lilt, Lilt Zero, Relentless Inferno, Kia-Ora Orange Squash, Kia-Ora Orange Squash No Added Sugar and Schweppes Orange Squash. Five Alive Apple Five Fruit Blend also contains traces of gelatine. We also don't conduct any animal tests or fund animal tests in developing our soft drinks, except as may be necessary in some countries to fulfil government requirements for proof of ingredient safety.

Are Coca‑Cola brands suitable for those with gluten allergies or coeliac disease?
Coeliac disease is an autoimmune condition that is triggered by the presence of a protein called gluten, found in cereals such as wheat, oats, barley and rye. None of our UK products contain gluten. People with gluten allergies or coeliac disease should follow their healthcare provider's advice regarding the inclusion of soft drinks as part of their diet.

What about Coca‑Cola and diabetes?
Diabetes is a disorder that is caused by the body’s inability to make or use insulin effectively. If you have diabetes, an important part of managing your condition will be maintaining your blood sugar level within specific, narrow limits. Always consult your GP or other health care provider for advice about what can be included in your diet.

Drinks that contain low- or no-calorie sweeteners are an ideal option for people who are looking to reduce their calorie intake. They also help to offer people with diabetes a wider choice of food and drink.

For further information, please visit the Diabetes UK website: Diabetes UK

Are Coca‑Cola brands suitable for those with PKU?
Phenylketonuria (or PKU) is a rare condition, affecting approximately one in 10,000 babies born in the UK. Those that have the hereditary disease are unable to metabolise phenylalanine and need to control their intake of this amino acid from all food sources. People with PKU must manage their intake of foods and drinks containing the sweetener aspartame, which contains a source of phenylalanine. Our drinks sweetened with aspartame such as Diet Coke, Coke Zero, Sprite Zero, Fanta Zero, Schweppes Slimline Bitter Lemon and Lilt Zero are clearly labelled as such, to alert these consumers to the presence of phenylalanine.

Got another health-related question about our drinks?

Visit our index of Health FAQs.

Send to a friend

Send this page to a friend
captcha image
Close